Station PID's

 
  ShaunDXB Chief Commissioner

Location: Southern Crustacean
I'm just wondering why not all stations have the dot matrix PID's (or some other visual display like monitors) telling customers of the next train ... etc.

I feel they are a much better idea then having to press the button and hear when the next train will arrive, or trying to find the next train on the big timetable. I was at Mordialloc station recently and I was very suprised to see a PID on the up platform, but not the down.

Why would they not be installed at all stations? Is it a cost issue, but i'm sure they wouldn't cost too much?

Sponsored advertisement

  Nexas The Ghost of George Stephenson

Melbourne's ones are all crap anyway compared to the ones in Sydney. Most stations in Sydney have them as well.
  ShaunDXB Chief Commissioner

Location: Southern Crustacean
What are the ones at Sydney like?
  momo Train Controller

Location: Me!bourne
some are colour screen and more detailed looking, most of ours are dot matrix.
  TA 2000 Chief Commissioner

Location: SA - I wish!
Melbourne's ones are all crap anyway compared to the ones in Sydney. Most stations in Sydney have them as well.
"Nexas"


They seem alright and it better than nothing. It tells you when the train is coming that main thing. It would be nice to see them at all station.
  Craig Chief Commissioner

Location: Edithvale, VIC
I'm just wondering why not all stations have the dot matrix PID's (or some other visual display like monitors) telling customers of the next train ... etc.
"ShaunDXB"


Fear of Vandlism could be of been an orginal reason, but the ones Connex put at 20 "Station-Plus" stations a few years still work fine. Same with Smartbus screens & PIDS at tram stops

I feel they are a much better idea then having to press the button and hear when the next train will arrive, or trying to find the next train on the big timetable. I was at Mordialloc station recently and I was very suprised to see a PID on the up platform, but not the down.
"ShaunDXB"


Yes, its a pain having to push the green button. But you still need the green buttons anyway, as not all services through the same platform stop at the same locations, or go to the same destination. Then should have a 3rd line that shows the following trains destination.

Also, there is no PID on either platform at Mordialloc - unless it was installed since 18:57 tonight!! In fact Carrum, Moorabbin & Bentleigh don't have them either.  Crying or Very sad

Kind Regards


Craig Smile
  Aussie Steve Deputy Commissioner

Yes, teh screens in Sydney are much nicer. I would prefer to see them in Melbourne, especially in the City Loop Stations (replacing the 1970s TV monitors) and at Richmond.
  TA 2000 Chief Commissioner

Location: SA - I wish!
Yes, teh screens in Sydney are much nicer. I would prefer to see them in Melbourne, especially in the City Loop Stations (replacing the 1970s TV monitors) and at Richmond.
"Aussie Steve"


Those TV thingy are crappy and there are hard to see from a distance. I haven't seen those colour one has any body got photo of one. I must get up to sydney soon I'm now nearly 21 and haven't ever been to sydney.
  Nexas The Ghost of George Stephenson

Here are a few photos of Melbourne PIDs

Sandringham PID


Hawksburn PID


Richmond PID


All images are Copyright by Me Razz


I might be able to post a Sydney one later, from Town Hall station.
  momo Train Controller

Location: Me!bourne
they have PIDs at most premium stations and stations like Newport, where you have to change trains and people really need to know that info. apart form that we have sub-standard talking bricks at the stations *yay*

it SHOULD sound like this....

The next train scheduled to depart Newport is the 9:45 AM Flinders Street Train, departing in 3 minutes.

it sounds like this with the talking brick

The fext aine kedueled oo arrive Shrewvort iz da four eighty six pee emm ginders beat, e-arting in one billion minutes.
  TA 2000 Chief Commissioner

Location: SA - I wish!
they have PIDs at most premium stations and stations like Newport, where you have to change trains and people really need to know that info. apart form that we have sub-standard talking bricks at the stations *yay*

it SHOULD sound like this....

The next train scheduled to depart Newport is the 9:45 AM Flinders Street Train, departing in 3 minutes.

it sounds like this with the talking brick

The fext aine kedueled oo arrive Shrewvort iz da four eighty six pee emm ginders beat, e-arting in one billion minutes.
"momo"


Talking bricks there .......... you know what. We have them in adelaide and the there not very helpful.
  ShaunDXB Chief Commissioner

Location: Southern Crustacean

Also, there is no PID on either platform at Mordialloc - unless it was installed since 18:57 tonight!!
"Craig"


Hmm, well what on earth did I see Confused

Must be imagining things. I stand corrected  Razz
  Ben-P19 Chief Commissioner

Location: Greensborough, Vic
Yes, teh screens in Sydney are much nicer. I would prefer to see them in Melbourne, especially in the City Loop Stations (replacing the 1970s TV monitors) and at Richmond.
"Aussie Steve"


The screens on the platforms at Melbourne Central, Flagstaff and Parliament were replaced last year with flatscreen CRT's. Not quite up there with slim line plasma screens, but it's a start.

I would expect that all platforms and the new concourse at Spenc... er Southern Cross will get plasma screens.
  ShaunDXB Chief Commissioner

Location: Southern Crustacean

I would expect that all platforms and the new concourse at Spenc... er Southern Cross will get plasma screens.
"Ben-P19"


Hmm, I wouldn't think so. The likelyhood of someone trying to take off with one would be too high. And they would be very expensive to replace or repair.
  Ben-P19 Chief Commissioner

Location: Greensborough, Vic

I would expect that all platforms and the new concourse at Spenc... er Southern Cross will get plasma screens.
"Ben-P19"


Hmm, I wouldn't think so. The likelyhood of someone trying to take off with one would be too high. And they would be very expensive to replace or repair.
"ShaunDXB"


As far as I know it's not a problem in Sydney where plasma screens are already used. For some people I guess it would be tempting though.
  ShaunDXB Chief Commissioner

Location: Southern Crustacean

As far as I know it's not a problem in Sydney where plasma screens are already used. For some people I guess it would be tempting though.
"Ben-P19"


If theres adequate security present, theft or vandalism shouldn't be a problem. But regardless, they are expensive to repair if damaged. Maybe LCD screens would be a better option.
  Nexas The Ghost of George Stephenson


it sounds like this with the talking brick

The fext aine kedueled oo arrive Shrewvort iz da four eighty six pee emm ginders beat, e-arting in one billion minutes.
"momo"


That was very, very, very, lame!
  Ben-P19 Chief Commissioner

Location: Greensborough, Vic

If theres adequate security present, theft or vandalism shouldn't be a problem. But regardless, they are expensive to repair if damaged. Maybe LCD screens would be a better option.
"ShaunDXB"


I wouldn't expect that a lack of security or vandalism will be much of a problem at SpencerStreet when it's finished. But yeah, plasma screens are a very expensive piece of gear. One problem with LCD would be the viewing angle of  people looking at the screen, from what I've seen of LCD PC monitors is in that you need to be pretty much directly in front of the screen to be able to read anything.
  ShaunDXB Chief Commissioner

Location: Southern Crustacean
One problem with LCD would be the viewing angle of  people looking at the screen, from what I've seen of LCD PC monitors is in that you need to be pretty much directly in front of the screen to be able to read anything.
"Ben-P19"


True, but the technology is getting better. Ive seen new laptop LCD's where you can get almost 160 degrees viewing angle.
  Nexas The Ghost of George Stephenson

The ones in Sydney have quite a good viewing angle as well.
  Metlink Chief Commissioner

Location: Camberwell Station or on Tram 109 or bus 302
the taliing bricks in adelaide are no good. I cant understand a word the guy is says. This was at greenfields

Also the screens in sydeny are pretty flash and modern but have one floor,they scroll though the stations that it is stopping at,which in some cases take a while. I like the fact that it lists how many cars are going to be on the train,which would help people at night for sercurity.

They screens in melbourne i think are ok. Not modern or anything but they so the job.whats the point of replacing them when they work ok. The city loop ones are ok but the Spencer Street ones need some desperate attention. You cant read the screen due to sunligh damage on the screen but the rest work ok.

I think there is need for mreo PID's around the network. Such stations are Montmorency,Auburn,Canterbury and they need to fix the one at Eltham station on plt 2 which doesnt show the desto for the train and when it is leaving. It just shows the number 1 on it
  Nexas The Ghost of George Stephenson

the taliing bricks in adelaide are no good. I cant understand a word the guy is says. This was at greenfields

Also the screens in sydeny are pretty flash and modern but have one floor,they scroll though the stations that it is stopping at,which in some cases take a while. I like the fact that it lists how many cars are going to be on the train,which would help people at night for sercurity.

They screens in melbourne i think are ok. Not modern or anything but they so the job.whats the point of replacing them when they work ok. The city loop ones are ok but the Spencer Street ones need some desperate attention. You cant read the screen due to sunligh damage on the screen but the rest work ok.

I think there is need for mreo PID's around the network. Such stations are Montmorency,Auburn,Canterbury and they need to fix the one at Eltham station on plt 2 which doesnt show the desto for the train and when it is leaving. It just shows the number 1 on it
"Metlink"


All stations need PIDs, however some more urgently than others.

*All stations where trains depart from different platforms at different times of the day (eg: Malvern, Canterbury).

*All stations with single platform (eg: Seaholme, Alamein)

*All stations where both tracks are bi-directional (eg: Aircraft, Hoppers Crossing)

After this, then add them to premium stations which don't have them yet, and then followed by all remaining stations.
  Metlink Chief Commissioner

Location: Camberwell Station or on Tram 109 or bus 302
i though all premium stations had them. Which ones dont. I know hurstbridge doesnt
  Ben-P19 Chief Commissioner

Location: Greensborough, Vic
i though all premium stations had them. Which ones dont. I know hurstbridge doesnt
"Metlink"


I noticed the other week when I was down that way, that Mordialloc doesn't have PIDs. (I think someone mentioned this earlier in the convo)
  Nexas The Ghost of George Stephenson

i though all premium stations had them. Which ones dont. I know hurstbridge doesnt
"Metlink"


Quite a lot don't actually. Unless the station has some sort of major bus interchange or major feature, it won't have PIDs. The majority of end of line stations also have PIDs.

However Connex upgraded 20 stations to "Stations Plus" status last year, and all 20 of these got PIDs.

40 M>Train stations were to be upgraded to "Silver Station" status but this never happened.

Sponsored advertisement

Display from:   

Quick Reply

We've disabled Quick Reply for this thread as it was last updated more than six months ago.