Model Railway Links + DCC info

 
  dthead Site Admin

Location: Melbourne, Australia
LINKS:  All the links you want, and more. This thread lists links for model railways. Each category has it's own "post" to make it easier.

Got a link, fix a link, remove a link  ?
Post the link/correction here, A Mod/admin will edit this list, then delete your post.  Link updated when a mod/admins sees and has time) Suggestions on content & format always welcome.
.

Sponsored advertisement

  dthead Site Admin

Location: Melbourne, Australia
Clubs:

Railway Modellers' Club of Queensland Inc http://rmcq.org.au/home/  

AMRA Vic Branch http://www.amra-vic.org.au

AMRA Qld Branch http://www.amra.asn.au/qld.htm

All Gauge Model Railway Club http://www.allgauge.org.au/


Australasian Region of the National Model Railroad Association http://www.nmra.org.au
(or National Model Railroad Association     Australasian region )

Bendigo Model Railroaders. http://www.freewebs.com/bendigomodelrail

Canberra Monaro N Scale Group http://www.cmnsg.asn.au

Canberra Model Railway Club http://www.canberra-model-railway-club.webs.com

Cardinia Rail LLinc - Model Railway Club http://www.oz-trax.com

Croydon Model Railway Club http://www.croydonmrc.com.au

Darling Downs Model Railway Club http://www.ddmrc.com.au

Eltham Model Railway Club http://www.elthammrc.org.au/

Gold Coast Model Railway Workshop Inc http://www.barcourt.com/gcmrw.htm

Grampian Model Railroaders Inc. http://www.gmr.has.it

Hobsons Bay Model Railway Club http://www.hbmrc.net

Melton Model Railway Club! -> http://www.meltonmrc.org.au/

Mount Barker model Railway Club inc http://au.geocities.com/mbmrci/

Noarlunga Model Railroaders Inc. http://www.noarail.com/

Illawarra Model Railway Association. http://users.speedlink.com.au/~imra/

South Australian N Gauge Society: http://www.sangs.asn.au/sangs/

South Australian Railway Modellers Association (SARMA) http://www.sarma.asn.au

Modelling the Railways of South Australia Convention http://www.mrsac.com

Victorian Model Railway Society Inc.   http://www.vmrs.net/url


Waverley Model Railway Club [url=http://www.waverleymrc.org.au]http://www.waverleymrc.org.au
  dthead Site Admin

Location: Melbourne, Australia
Shops

NSW

A nice list of 50 Sydney based shops Hobby shops in Sydney and NSW

Bergs Hobbies http://www.bergshobbies.com/

All Aboard Modellbahn http://www.allaboard.com.au/

Antons Trains http://www.antonstrains.com.au

Casula Hobbies http://www.casulahobbies.com.au/catalog

Frontline Hobbies http://www.frontlinehobbies.com.au/

Gwydir Valley Models http://www.gwydirvalleymodels.com/

HO scale model trains http://www.hoscalemodeltrains.com.au/

Model Railroad Craftsman http://www.mrrc.com.au

Model Railway Wizard (NSW) http://www.modelrailwaywizard.com.au/

HobbyCo http://www.hobbyco.com.au/

N Trains http://www.n-trains.com.au/

Pamak Hobbies http://www.pamakhobbies.com/

Signal Box Model Railways and Hobbies http://infobluemountains.net.au/signalbox/Default.htm

The Railcar http://www.railcar.com.au/

Tom's Hobbies http://www.tomshobbies.com.au/

Train Trader http://www.traintrader.com.au/

VIC

Aust-N-Rail http://www.aust-n-rail.plann.com.au/

Aus Proto-87 Supplies http://www.ausp87supplies.com/index.html

Brunel Hobbies http://www.brunelhobbies.com.au/

Branch Line http://www.branchline.com.au

Hobbies Plus http://www.hobbiesplus.com.au/

Hobby Place http://www.hobbyplace.com.au/

Road & Rail Online Hobby Shop http://www.roadandrail.net

Junction models http://www.junctionmodels.com.au

Train World http://www.trainworld.com.au/

Victorian Hobby Centre http://www.vichobbycentre.com.au/v1

QLD

Christmas Every Day http://www.christmaseveryday.com.au

Hobby One http://www.hobbyone.com.au

Horizon Hobbies http://www.horizonhobbies.com.au/default.asp  Suspect site gone as shop closed.

Moreton Bay Model Railways http://home.iprimus.com.au/brindabella/

Technol Trains http://www.technotrains.com/

SA End Of The Line Hobbies http://www.endofthelinehobbies.com.au

Orient Express Model Railway Shop http://www.orientexpressmodels.com.au/

WA

Hornby Shop (WA)

http://www.hornbyshop.com/

Perth Hobby Centre http://www.perthhobbycentre.com.au/

Dave's Hobby Centre http://www.hobbycentre.com.au/

Stanbridge's Hobbies http://www.stanbridges.com.au/

Bad/Broken links:

European Trains http://homepage.powerup.com.au/~trainset/

Derwent Valley Model Trains http://www.dvmt.com.au/

I R Models http://www.irmodels.com/



The N Scaler http://members.ozemail.com.au/~kerr43/nscaler.html

Vagg's Radio Models and Hobbies http://www.vaggshobbies.com.au/ Woodpecker Model Railways http://www.woodpeckermodelrailways.com.au/
  dthead Site Admin

Location: Melbourne, Australia
Australian Model Railway Manufacturers/Suppliers

AR KITS, Mains West, L&C DJH & some ex Lloyds http://www.arkits.com

Andrew's Hobbies http://www.andrewshobbies.com.au

AussieScenics - ebay store but moving to website.[urlhttp://http://www.facebook.com/AussieScenics[/url]

Argyle Locomotive Workshttp://www.argyleloco.com.au/

Auscision Models http://www.auscisionmodels.com.au

AUST-N-RAIL http://www.aust-n-rail.com.au

AUSTRAINS http://www.austrains.com.au

Aus-Scene Models http://www.aus-scenemodels.com.au

Blue and Gold Models http://www.blueandgoldmodels.com.au

Bills Billboards http://billsbillboards.webs.com/index.html

Bill's Trains http://www.billstrains.webhop.net/

BGB Models Only contact at this time is BGB Models , PO Box 75 ,Pooraka, SA, 5095. (was Broad Gauge Bodies originally)

Black Diamond Models http://www.blackdiamondmodels.com.au/

Chucks BallastSupplies http://www.chucksballast.com/

CGL Models  [color=#0066cc][size=2][font=Roboto, wf_SegoeUI, ]http://cglmodels.com.au/[/font][/size][/color]   NEW Queensland Models Brand

CMRI Australia http://cmri.mcnaircomputerservices.com.au/

]Cut It Out Laser Models N' More http://modelsnmore.com.au/

Datasheets http://datashet.actewagl.net.au or http://grapevine.com.au/~datashet/index.html

DCC Concepts http://www.dccconcepts.com

DCC Solutions   http://www.dccsolutions.com.au/

DCC Sounds of Victorian Railwayshttp://www.dccsound.com

Eureka Models http://eurekamodels.com.au

Frate-N http://www.frate-n.net.au/

GR Decals http://www.grdecals.com.au/index.html

Hand Made Accessories http://www.handmadeacc.com/

Hanovale Casting http://www.hanovale.com.au

Haskell http://www.haskellco.net Australian O scale, HO scale QR (so fr)

Hawkmount Models http://www.hawkmountmodels.com/

Hollywood Foundry http://www.hollywoodfoundry.com/

Ian Lindsay Models http://www.ianlindsaymodels.com

IDR Models  https://www.facebook.com/hobbylandaustralia

In Front Models http://www.infrontmodels.com.au

Inprotrains http://www.inprotrans.com/

Ixion Models http://www.ixionmodels.com/

JG Models     http://www.jgmodels.com/      NEW!


Kerroby Models http://www.aust-n-rail.plann.com.au/kerroby.htm

Keiran Ryan Models http://www.krmodels.com.au/index.html

LittleBuilding Co http://www.littlebuildingco.com/

Lighthouse Foam Factory http://www.hotwirefoamfactory.com.au

Lloyd's Model Railways See AR Kits entry

Lyndon's basic australian trains http://www.lyndonstrains.com/

Michael McCormac Models  -  no active web site for years.....

MicroMark at http://www.micromark.com


Model O Kits http://modelokits.com/

Model train buildings http://www.modeltrainbuildings.com.au

Model Etch (etched parts) http://www.modeletch.com

Model Fair http://www.modelfair.com/

MODRATEC -lever frames & sofware http://www.modratec.com

ModelTorque  Ceased trading to due owner's death.

Mark 4 Designhttp://www.mark4design.com/

Nagasaki Models http://www.aust-n-rail.plann.com.au/nagasaki.htm Link dead.

N Scale Australia http://www.aust-n-rail.plann.com.au/nscaleaust.htm

N-Trainshttp://www.n-trains.com.au/

On Track Models http://www.ontrackmodels.com.au

O-Aust Kits http://www.oaustkits.com.au   most of the nsw range has been aquired by Model O Kits

Outback Models http://outbackmodels.com/

Ornamental Castings http://www.orncastings.com

OZSCALE http://www.ozscale.com

Pioneer Models  https://ozcrowd.com/campaigns/brass-o-scale-143-nsw-32-class...

PGC Models http://www.pgcscalemodels.com.au

Powerline http://www.powerline.com.au

Pallas Hobbies http://www.pallashobbies.com.au/

Peter Boorman's Workshop http://www.peterboormansworkshop.com.au

Queensland Scale Models http://www.queenslandscalemodels.com.au

PSM http://precisionscalemodels.com.au/

Spirit Designhttp://www.spiritdesign.com.au/

SAR N Scale Detailers http://www.sar-nscale.com

S.A.R Model Company http://www.sarmodelco.com/


SDS Models http://sdsmodels.com.au/index.htm

Sidetracked Electronics http://www.sidetracked-e.com/

Steam Era Models http://home.waterfront.net.au/~sem/

Series 567 Railvideohttp://www.series567railvideo.com.au/index.html

Somerset Models http://www.somersetmodels.com.au

Southernrailmodels http://southernrailmodels.com.au

The Balmain Drawingboardhttp://www.wolganrail.com

Train Builder http://trainbuilder.com/

Trainorama http://www.tomshobbies.com.au/

Veteran Models http://www.users.bigpond.com/swarm_leeder/VMKits.htm

VRcasts http://www.vrcasts.com

VR Products http://www.vrproducts.com.au

Waratah Model Railway Companyhttp://www.waratahmrc.com.au/index.html

Weico Models http://members.optusnet.com.au/~weicomodelsw/

Wuiske Models. http://www.wuiskepromotions.com.au/
  dthead Site Admin

Location: Melbourne, Australia
Overseas and Misc.



Control Train Conponents (CTC) http://www.ctcparts.com/index.html

Agenoria Models http://www.ukmodelshops.co.uk/catalogues/agenoria.html

Bachmann Industries Inc. http://www.bachmanntrains.com/home-usa/index.php

Backwoods Miniatures http://www.backwoodsminiatures.com

Buffers Model Railways (james may inspired)  http://www.buffersmodelrailways.com

Cast Whitemetal turnouts. http://home.freeuk.net/nmrabr/track/turnout1.htm

Fallen Flags http://www.rr-fallenflags.org/

Fast Tracks! - point building jigs,templates etc. http://www.handlaidtrack.com

Frateschi http://www.frateschi.com.br/produtos/locomotivas_eng.php

Gateway NMRA http://www.gatewaynmra.org

Grafton and Greenbrier RR http://www.graftonandgreenbrier.com

Hattons Model Railways http://www.hattons.co.uk & http://www.ehattons.com

High Level Gearboxes http://www.highlevelkits.co.uk

Hobbylinc http://www.hobbylinc.com/

Ironhorse Hobbies (NZ) http://www.ironhorse.inet.net.nz/

JLC Enterprises-Bruce Chubb's CMRI & Super mini nodes! http://www.jlcenterprises.net

JMRI -DCC software http://jmri.sourceforge.net/index.html

Kadee Couplers ( and more) http://www.kadee.com

Kernow Model Rail Centre http://www.kernowmodelrailcentre.com

Magic Water. http://www.unrealdetails.com

Modelzone http://www.modelzone.co.uk

Modelcrafts & Hobbies (NZ) http://www.modelcraftsandhobbies.co.nz/

Model Rail layout pics and other information http://www.simplytrains.com/"> http://www.simplytrains.com/

Model Signals & lever frames http://www.modelsignals.com

NWSL gears etc. http://www.nwsl.com


Peco turnout dimensions http://rmcq.org.au/worksheets_free/peco_turnout_dimensions.pdf

Principles of model locomotive suspension http://www.users.globalnet.co.uk/~phold/clag/41-0rev.html

RAIL-LYNX Infrared Command Control System http://www.rail-lynx.com

Railmaster Exports (NZ) http://www.railmaster.co.nz/

Rails of Sheffield. http://railsofsheffield.com/default.aspx

Railway Engineering -Turnouts http://www.railwayeng.com

RMweb http://www.rmweb.co.uk/

Rustystumps: http://www.rustystumps.com/default.asp
Overseas suppliers. Kits and scratchbuilding supplies, roofing, cladding, windows, doors, etc. Fast delivery.

Sergent Engineering (couplers) http://www.sergentengineering.com/

Soundtraxx - DCC sound http://www.soundtraxx.com

The Sierra Western & Santa Fe RR http://www.fortinweb.com/sys-tmpl/swsf/

Station Road Baseboards http://www.stationroadbaseboards.co.uk

UK Modern Era layout http://www.stroleycentral.co.uk/

UTAH COLORADO WESTERN http://www.ucwrr.com

Walthers http://www.walthers.com

Peco turnout/point dimensions http://caldernorthern.uk/wp-content/uploads/2015/05/pecoturn...
  dthead Site Admin

Location: Melbourne, Australia
General Australian
Australian Model Railway Magazine (AMRM) http://www.australianmodelrailways.com
Australian Railway Detail Photos  http://www.ardp.net

VR Enthusiast http://www.vr-enthusiast.com
highly reccomended

ModelRail.com.au.http://www.modelrail.com.au/index.php
Tram modelling Yahoo group. http://groups.yahoo.com/group/austrammodelling/

How to..... From Hollywood Foundryhttp://www.hollywoodfoundry.com/HowToPapers.shtm

NSW Rollingstockhttp://www.nswrollingstock.com/nswrollingstock.htm  
N Scale in Australia http://homepages.picknowl.com.au/austnscale/nsia.htm
N Scale Modeller E-zine http://www.nscale.org.au/emags/NSM_01.pdf

DCC sound decoder selection http://home.iprimus.com.au/casula/dieselsounds.htm

Lights, Action and Sound in DCC and DC. http://www.members.optusnet.com.au/nswmn/lights_sound.htm

Tasmainian Resources http://www.railtasmania.com/

QR diagrams 1982 http://www.4shared.com/file/51628771/eb49afe3/Rollingstock_Book_1982.html
QR diagrams 1991 http://www.4shared.com/file/51628062/6e14d99d/Rollingstock_Book_1991_A.html
  dthead Site Admin

Location: Melbourne, Australia

Layouts
Aussie NG Web Exhibition http://members.optushome.com.au/jdennis/ng_webex.html
Murray's 'Parkerville'http://wastations.i8.com/eastern/Parkerville/Parkerville%20Station.html
Cudgewa Branch - The Shelley Railway Company" http://shelley-railway.blogspot.com/
Dutton Bay Tramway http://members.optushome.com.au/duttonbay ]
Lambing Flat blog:  http://lambingflat.blogspot.com/
Modelling the NSWGR Main North in the 1960's http://www.members.optusnet.com.au/nswmn/index.htm
Model Railway Layouts blog http://modelrailwaytrains.org
Main West Of NSW Layout http://paulmoss.fotopic.net/
North Coast Of NSW Layout http://casino.fotopic.net/ ]

Penhayle Bay layout currently has it's own Facebook page :  https://www.facebook.com/pages/Penhayle ... 9852251407    It is also featured on RMweb at  http://www.rmweb.co.uk/community/index. ... hayle-bay/  

Sn 3 1/2 layout http://ph.groups.yahoo.com/group/finescale64/photos
Victorian Layout. http://www.freewebs.com/daylesford/index.htm

AMRM blog :  http://australianmodelrailwaymagazine.blogspot.com/




  dthead Site Admin

Location: Melbourne, Australia
Information on full size or model rollingstock

Post the link to any website that is a valuable resource for modelling a particular wagon/loco, or info on full sized wagon/loco. It can be  ageneral link or a very spcific link to one item in particular.
=============================================
  dthead Site Admin

Location: Melbourne, Australia
Got a link, fix a link, remove a link ?

Post the link/correction here, A Mod/admin will edit this list, then delete your post. Link updated when a mod/admins can. Suggestions on content & format always welcome.

When entering a link make sure you tell me which category to place it in. So far we have had a great responce. thank you. Hope this helps some.

NOTE: any post after this one will be used to update the above information, and be a temporary link until we update the above listings. When the info is added above, the post will be deleted.....

Remember you generate the content, no just me !!
  allan Chief Commissioner

The address for the Noarlunga Model Railroaders is now http://www.noarlungarail.com/
  allan Chief Commissioner

BGB models is dead and gone. The snailmail address is very unlikely to be current.

Junction Models (shop) is not listed. http://junctionmodels.com.au/

Ozrail now has a retail outlet at Parafield. The website http://www.ozrailmodeltrains.com.au/ is under rebuild. I understand that there is a Facebook presence https://web.facebook.com/OzRail-Model-Trains-437968449578455/ , but Facebook is too much for me!
  patsstuffnow Locomotive Driver

New postal address for BGB Models PO BOX 186 , BROMPTON SA 5007   email address bgbmodels@gmail.com       new online store bgb-models.myshopify.com
  therunawaytrain Beginner

LINKS:  All the links you want, and more. This thread lists links for model railways. Each category has it's own "post" to make it easier.

Got a link, fix a link, remove a link  ?
Post the link/correction here, A Mod/admin will edit this list, then delete your post.  Link updated when a mod/admins sees and has time) Suggestions on content & format always welcome.
.
dthead
Can I suggest you add http://www.modelrailwayclubs.co.uk to the overseas/other section. They list all the local clubs, and are how I got into the hobby.

Sponsored advertisement

Display from:   

Quick Reply

We've disabled Quick Reply for this thread as it was last updated more than six months ago.