| Author |
Message |
biqua
Paper Tiger
Joined: May 10, 2005 Last Visited: Nov 23, 2008 Location: SRA Survey No. 14032
contact
|
post
|
|
Posted: Fri May 09, 2008 7:19 pm
|
I just saw my signature - looked like this:
when the image should be this:
Go into my profile and find this:
| Code: | [url=http://biqua.fotopic.net/]http://biqua.fotopic.net/
[img:a2fee53135]http://www.mindless.info/rp-banner-c.jpg[/img:a2fee53135][/url]
... |
note the img:a2fee53135 where img along should be - go into setting to change it, and it is just img
|
|
 |
biqua
Paper Tiger
Joined: May 10, 2005 Last Visited: Nov 23, 2008 Location: SRA Survey No. 14032
contact
|
post
|
|
Posted: Fri May 09, 2008 7:20 pm
|
|
.. and now that's gone to advertising too - is it RP, or my server, or both?
|
|
 |
Alyx
Chief Commissioner
Joined: May 20, 2004 Last Visited: Nov 23, 2008 Location: Adelaide
contact
|
post
|
|
Posted: Fri May 09, 2008 7:26 pm
|
|
It all looks fine here Biqua. I think it might be something that's gotten in to your browser.
|
|
 |
biqua
Paper Tiger
Joined: May 10, 2005 Last Visited: Nov 23, 2008 Location: SRA Survey No. 14032
contact
|
post
|
|
Posted: Fri May 09, 2008 7:31 pm
|
|
Ok - maybe my pc ... scanning as we speak.
|
|
 |
Gwiwer
Rt Hon Gentleman and Ghost of Oliver Bulleid
Joined: Nov 22, 2003 Last Visited: Nov 23, 2008 Location: Far away yet close at hand in images of elsewhere
contact
|
post
|
|
Posted: Sat May 10, 2008 7:37 pm
|
That looks like a nasty has crept through.
Are you using a firewall or some sort of respectable antivirus software?
I'd be running something like Stinger, Spybot or similar and maybe reverting my hard drive to a safe moment in time if necessary.
Best of luck.
CEO Penhayle Bay Railway. Ferroequinologist. BA Hons (Honourable Bachelor of Aquatarts  )
The wise yet mysterious Sir Gwiwer Greybeard
|
|
 |
biqua
Paper Tiger
Joined: May 10, 2005 Last Visited: Nov 23, 2008 Location: SRA Survey No. 14032
contact
|
post
|
|
Posted: Sat May 10, 2008 7:41 pm
|
|
A firewall, Spybot, and Panda antivirus ... still struggling to find the answer, as both scanners come up clean.
|
|
 |
TheLoadedDog
El Sombrero!
Joined: Jun 19, 2003 Last Visited: Sep 28, 2008 Location: Macquarie Fields NSW
contact
|
post
|
|
Posted: Sat May 10, 2008 8:15 pm
|
I dunno biqua - that first image is so you!
Humphrey! We're leaving!
|
|
 |
greenkayaker
Minister for Railways
Joined: Sep 20, 2005 Last Visited: Nov 23, 2008
contact
|
post
|
|
|
 |
michaelgreenhill
Patron Saint of Alcohol

Joined: Jan 17, 1985 Last Visited: Nov 22, 2008 Location: Lost Somewhere In Time
contact
|
post
|
|
Posted: Sat May 10, 2008 10:15 pm
|
The ":a2fee53135" inside the BBCode is perfectly normal. In fact, every BBCode has a string inside the BBCode - buggered if I know what it does, that's just how phpBB runs.
Sounds like a combination of RP having a bit of a sook (hence the wierd string being visible, it's not supposed to be) and either your banner host playing up or your PC being infected with adware
|
|
 |
alstom_888m
Chief Commissioner
Joined: Aug 26, 2007 Last Visited: Nov 23, 2008 Location: Craigieburn Suburban Railway Line, Melbourne
contact
|
post
|
|
Posted: Sat May 10, 2008 10:54 pm
|
Judging by the nature of the new banner, I would bet it's one of the last two.
And since this is Fotopic we are talking about, I would probably put my money on adware.
Reliable, Economical, Safe, By Rail.
|
|
 |
biqua
Paper Tiger
Joined: May 10, 2005 Last Visited: Nov 23, 2008 Location: SRA Survey No. 14032
contact
|
post
|
|
Posted: Sat May 10, 2008 11:27 pm
|
I think I've fixed it ... what a hassle though. In searching for Hijack This, I came across this site, which recommended these steps be performed first - this combined with the latest versions of SpywareBlaster and Ad-Aware, and getting rid of anything to do with MSN Messenger (I think that may be what was hijacked - will d/l a new version to replace it) and a few other things.
| alstom_888m wrote: | | And since this is Fotopic we are talking about, I would probably put my money on adware. |
I've never had, or heard of such issues with Fotopic, so am a little surprised.
For clarification whilst clicking the link goes to my fotopic site, the actual banner image is hosted on my own web server (sitting under my desk), which all seems in order.
|
|
 |
TheLoadedDog
El Sombrero!
Joined: Jun 19, 2003 Last Visited: Sep 28, 2008 Location: Macquarie Fields NSW
contact
|
post
|
|
Posted: Sat May 10, 2008 11:33 pm
|
|
My understanding [so already it's dodgy - ed.] of the conventional wisdom of the last few years of personal computing is that you should always run Spybot and Adaware. The nerds can argue which one is better, but apparently each picks up stuff the other misses.
Humphrey! We're leaving!
|
|
 |
biqua
Paper Tiger
Joined: May 10, 2005 Last Visited: Nov 23, 2008 Location: SRA Survey No. 14032
contact
|
post
|
|
Posted: Sat May 10, 2008 11:50 pm
|
Yeah, for some reason I regularly run Spybot, but forget Ad-Aware ... I promise to be a good boy and run both from now on.
|
|
 |
Gwiwer
Rt Hon Gentleman and Ghost of Oliver Bulleid
Joined: Nov 22, 2003 Last Visited: Nov 23, 2008 Location: Far away yet close at hand in images of elsewhere
contact
|
post
|
|
Posted: Sun May 11, 2008 1:10 am
|
With the PC I ran SpyBot weekly and AdAware about monthly. It's true one cleans what the other misses but SpyBot is good for about 98% of everything if you keep your version updated.
I have had issues with Fotopic which is one reason I no longer use the site. My images are currently hosted by Photobucket.
Having recently converted to the iMac I have to re-learn the wisdom of computer safety. Not nearly as much is said to affect Macs and MacMessenger (iMSN, if you like) doesn't give any problems as long as I act sensibly and don't simply open any and every file which gets spammed.
There are still some bots about capable of finding anyone online and sending files. Beware.
CEO Penhayle Bay Railway. Ferroequinologist. BA Hons (Honourable Bachelor of Aquatarts  )
The wise yet mysterious Sir Gwiwer Greybeard
|
|
 |
michaelgreenhill
Patron Saint of Alcohol

Joined: Jan 17, 1985 Last Visited: Nov 22, 2008 Location: Lost Somewhere In Time
contact
|
post
|
|
Posted: Sun May 11, 2008 10:54 am
|
| Gwiwer wrote: | | MacMessenger (iMSN, if you like) doesn't give any problems as long as I act sensibly and don't simply open any and every file which gets spammed |
- My emphasis
It's not like MacMessenger is the only app on which you should excercise caution with shared files - anyone using a computer should know to act sensibly with shared/downloaded files and scan them with antiviral software.
If I had my way, people would need a license to use computers. Think! No more botnets, (next to) no spam, no more morons saying "My Mozilla is broken!!!111". Gah, Mozilla is a brand name - it's like saying my Fujitsu is broken.
Can you tell I'm lacking sleep...?
|
|
 |
|
|