RP 3.10 Bugs and Feedback

 
  Lad_Porter Chief Commissioner

Location: Yarra Glen
What's wrong with Firefox, or why don't you like it?  Works perfectly for me.

Sponsored advertisement

  don_dunstan Minister for Railways

Location: Adelaide proud
Again today Railpage is working perfectly in Firefox but not on Chrome. I guess I'll just just Firefox when I'm looking at Railpage...
Have you tried uninstalling Chrome and reinstalling?
Graham4405
I might try that if I get bored but otherwise I've by-passed the problem now by installing Firefox.
What's wrong with Firefox, or why don't you like it? Works perfectly for me.
Lad Porter
I don't have a problem with Firefox but all my passwords and logins are already set to Chrome so it's going to be a pain to have to switch browsers just because Chrome doesn't like Railpage.
Uncle Bill gave up on Internet Explorer (not, once more, Windows Explorer, which is used to find files on your own PC) and replaced it with Edge. Edge works perfect with Railpage. Internet Explorer is old, insecure, and (to the best of my knowledge) unsupported. IE11, the last version, was released in 2013 and has been replaced by Edge. I'm glad you have a working system. By downloading Firefox you have the latest version.
Duttonbay
I didn't even realise I still had Explorer, it must have been a hang over from when I was running Windows 8. I don't use it.
  Graham4405 Minister for Railways

Location: Dalby Qld
Have you tried uninstalling Chrome and reinstalling?
I might try that if I get bored but otherwise I've by-passed the problem now by installing Firefox.
don_dunstan

It won't take long. Just do it, there's nothing to lose!
I didn't even realise I still had Explorer, it must have been a hang over from when I was running Windows 8. I don't use it.
don_dunstan

Internet Explorer still installs with Windows 10, goodness knows why! As noted previously, Windows Explorer (called File Explorer in Windows 10) is NOT an internet browser, but a file browser.
  Lad_Porter Chief Commissioner

Location: Yarra Glen
You can transfer your saved logins and passwords from Chrome to Firefox:

https://www.cyclonis.com/how-to-transfer-all-saved-passwords-chrome-to-firefox/

https://support.mozilla.org/en-US/kb/import-bookmarks-google-chrome

https://www.howtogeek.com/333047/how-to-migrate-all-your-data-from-chrome-to-firefox/


Why doesn't Chrome like Railpage?  Are there any other Railpage users using Chrome?
  DCook Train Controller

Location: The standard state
You can transfer your saved logins and passwords from Chrome to Firefox:

https://www.cyclonis.com/how-to-transfer-all-saved-passwords-chrome-to-firefox/

https://support.mozilla.org/en-US/kb/import-bookmarks-google-chrome

https://www.howtogeek.com/333047/how-to-migrate-all-your-data-from-chrome-to-firefox/


Why doesn't Chrome like Railpage?  Are there any other Railpage users using Chrome?
Lad_Porter
I have been using chrome and have not seen any problems at all with it
If anything Railpage is slower on Firefox, Edge and Internet explorer for me
  justapassenger Chief Commissioner

Internet Explorer is old, insecure, and (to the best of my knowledge) unsupported. IE11, the last version, was released in 2013 and has been replaced by Edge.
duttonbay
IE11 is still actively supported. The most recent update to IE11 was just a couple of weeks ago.

It was initially intended that what eventually became Edge would be a rebranding of IE using a heavily updated version of the same Trident engine under the hood, but backlash from developers pushed MS towards keeping IE and splitting off Edge as a parallel product.

Edge still has a smaller share of the desktop browser market than IE, and if it doesn't start to pick up its share with the new Chromium-based structure (that's right, MS's flagship browser now uses an engine developed by Apple and Google!) then I could see them dropping Edge completely by the end of 2022.

Internet Explorer still installs with Windows 10, goodness knows why!
Graham4405
There is a bucketload of software out there - both from MS and third parties - which accesses the Trident engine on which Internet Exploder 4 onwards is based.

Microsoft Edge does not meet that need as it uses different engines instead of Trident. The Windows version of Edge now uses Google's Chromium engine on which Chrome is based (which itself was a development forked from Apple's WebKit engine that powers Safari) after it used MS's own EdgeHTML engine from 2014-19.

MS takes a very conservative view on killing off legacy software because they draw so much of their income from licensing for embedded systems and embedded software components. Train management software is a good example, I bet there are many members of this very website would regularly travel on 'modern' trains where the software runs on Windows NT 3.5 Embedded.

As noted previously, Windows Explorer (called File Explorer in Windows 10) is NOT an internet browser, but a file browser.
Graham4405
The period where MS actively encouraged people to think of the two as the same was one of the things that led me to stick with MacOS long term. It's been a good move overall.
  Lad_Porter Chief Commissioner

Location: Yarra Glen
Versions of IE older than 11 are now out of support, but IE11 is alive and well, and as noted, was updated recently.  But it's allegedly full of security holes even so, and use for browsing is not recommended.  It is built into all versions of Windows, including 10, and can't be deleted because it is an integral part of the operating system.  For example, if you are a user of Outlook, many of Outlook's security settings are derived from IE settings, even if IE is not running.  Best advice is - don't use IE, find a better and more secure browser.
  duttonbay Minister for Railways

You can transfer your saved logins and passwords from Chrome to Firefox:

https://www.cyclonis.com/how-to-transfer-all-saved-passwords-chrome-to-firefox/

https://support.mozilla.org/en-US/kb/import-bookmarks-google-chrome

https://www.howtogeek.com/333047/how-to-migrate-all-your-data-from-chrome-to-firefox/


Why doesn't Chrome like Railpage?  Are there any other Railpage users using Chrome?
Lad_Porter
Yes. Works perfectly for me. My Chrome version is updated automatically, so is always current. I asked don_dunstan what version he was running and received no response.
  don_dunstan Minister for Railways

Location: Adelaide proud
You can transfer your saved logins and passwords from Chrome to Firefox:

https://www.cyclonis.com/how-to-transfer-all-saved-passwords-chrome-to-firefox/

https://support.mozilla.org/en-US/kb/import-bookmarks-google-chrome

https://www.howtogeek.com/333047/how-to-migrate-all-your-data-from-chrome-to-firefox/


Why doesn't Chrome like Railpage?  Are there any other Railpage users using Chrome?
Yes. Works perfectly for me. My Chrome version is updated automatically, so is always current. I asked don_dunstan what version he was running and received no response.
duttonbay
Sorry but I didn't see where you asked that - it's version 80.0.3987.149 and completely up-to-date it tells me.
  duttonbay Minister for Railways

You can transfer your saved logins and passwords from Chrome to Firefox:

https://www.cyclonis.com/how-to-transfer-all-saved-passwords-chrome-to-firefox/

https://support.mozilla.org/en-US/kb/import-bookmarks-google-chrome

https://www.howtogeek.com/333047/how-to-migrate-all-your-data-from-chrome-to-firefox/


Why doesn't Chrome like Railpage?  Are there any other Railpage users using Chrome?
Yes. Works perfectly for me. My Chrome version is updated automatically, so is always current. I asked don_dunstan what version he was running and received no response.
Sorry but I didn't see where you asked that - it's version 80.0.3987.149 and completely up-to-date it tells me.
don_dunstan
Not that it matters, but it was on Sat Mar 28, 2020 at 12:55 pm (AEDT) - the good thing is that you can use something to get full access here. I routinely switch browsers when websites don't work - it's surprising how many websites won't work on one, but will work on another. Developers use features which are not compatible across browsers, and/or only test on their own favourite browser.  

The bottom line is it is not Chrome - many users here are perfectly happy using Chrome, without any issues. It must be something at your end causing the problem.
  Lad_Porter Chief Commissioner

Location: Yarra Glen
You can transfer your saved logins and passwords from Chrome to Firefox:

https://www.cyclonis.com/how-to-transfer-all-saved-passwords-chrome-to-firefox/

https://support.mozilla.org/en-US/kb/import-bookmarks-google-chrome

https://www.howtogeek.com/333047/how-to-migrate-all-your-data-from-chrome-to-firefox/


Why doesn't Chrome like Railpage?  Are there any other Railpage users using Chrome?
Yes. Works perfectly for me. My Chrome version is updated automatically, so is always current. I asked don_dunstan what version he was running and received no response.
Sorry but I didn't see where you asked that - it's version 80.0.3987.149 and completely up-to-date it tells me.
Not that it matters, but it was on Sat Mar 28, 2020 at 12:55 pm (AEDT) - the good thing is that you can use something to get full access here. I routinely switch browsers when websites don't work - it's surprising how many websites won't work on one, but will work on another. Developers use features which are not compatible across browsers, and/or only test on their own favourite browser.  

The bottom line is it is not Chrome - many users here are perfectly happy using Chrome, without any issues. It must be something at your end causing the problem.
duttonbay
Could be that your Chrome has something wrong with it and would also not work correctly on other sites, not yet discovered.  If you can be bothered, download the latest install file for Chrome, save it somewhere, then thoroughly uninstall your current version using the Revo Uninstaller (the free version is fine).  Revo will not only uninstall using Chrome's own uninstaller, it will then go on to remove any leftover registry entries and files.  (You would be surprised at how many such items are left behind when you just use a normal uninstall, and quite possibly some such orphaned item is causing your problem).  Once your system is completely free of Chrome in this way, restart it and then run the Chrome installer which you downloaded previously.  If the newly installed Chrome then exhibits the same problems, it must indeed be somewhere else in your system, but Plan B would be to stick with Firefox.
  Graham4405 Minister for Railways

Location: Dalby Qld
Please correct the spelling of "Oliver Bullied, CME" in the status names, that spelling is rather unfortunate! Wink
(It should read "Oliver Bulleid, CME") https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Oliver_Bulleid
  don_dunstan Minister for Railways

Location: Adelaide proud
It may interest that Chrome has recently spat the dummy and is refusing to open News.com.au.
  duttonbay Minister for Railways

It may interest that Chrome has recently spat the dummy and is refusing to open News.com.au.
don_dunstan
I will probably come as no surprise to find out that it opens perfectly for me.

It's something at your end.
  don_dunstan Minister for Railways

Location: Adelaide proud
It may interest that Chrome has recently spat the dummy and is refusing to open News.com.au.
I will probably come as no surprise to find out that it opens perfectly for me.

It's something at your end.
duttonbay
I'm not worried, I use Firefox for this and News.com.au now - not being able to read all about the Wu Flu from one source really isn't a problem... I might uninstall and reinstall Chrome later as Graham from QLD suggested and see if that doesn't make a difference. It's not a problem with any of the extensions on Chrome, I've turned those off and it didn't make a difference.
  justapassenger Chief Commissioner

It may interest that Chrome has recently spat the dummy and is refusing to open News.com.au.
I will probably come as no surprise to find out that it opens perfectly for me.

It's something at your end.
duttonbay
Don is just as good at IT as he is at economics!
  Graham4405 Minister for Railways

Location: Dalby Qld
I can't use hypertext mark up boxes and I have to write everything in code - I also can't send or receive messages or 'like' posts.

Been that way for a few weeks now in Chrome and even worse in MS Windows. Suggestions?
don_dunstan
Hmm, now I'm having similar problems in Chrome, but not in Edge. It's a conspiracy I tell you!
  Graham4405 Minister for Railways

Location: Dalby Qld
I can't use hypertext mark up boxes and I have to write everything in code - I also can't send or receive messages or 'like' posts.

Been that way for a few weeks now in Chrome and even worse in MS Windows. Suggestions?
Hmm, now I'm having similar problems in Chrome, but not in Edge. It's a conspiracy I tell you!
Graham4405
I fixed this by clearing all browsing data in Chrome.
  s3_gunzel Not a gunzel developer

Location: Western Sydney, AU
I fixed this by clearing all browsing data in Chrome.
Graham4405


Yup, if you're getting it in one browser but not another, the best advice is to clear your cache.
  BrentonGolding Chief Commissioner

Location: Maldon Junction
How often are you having to clear the cache? I have done it multiple times over the past week or so and still having dramas. Can't like etc posts, can't see who has liked etc posts, if i try to reply it won't let me quote previous post in a seperate box etc etc and that is before we even get to how slow the darn thing is.

If you, like me, use a work computer then clearing the cache every 5 minutes is a 6 star pain in the butt as we have so much other stuff that disappears at the same time.
  bevans Site Admin

Location: Melbourne, Australia
BG which browser are you using?

I am on chrome and do not see any issues.
  BrentonGolding Chief Commissioner

Location: Maldon Junction
Chrome across multiple devices, dramas all round
  BrentonGolding Chief Commissioner

Location: Maldon Junction
Chrome across multiple devices, dramas all round
"BrentonGolding"


And when i hit send on the above, you guessed it, the site crashed on me yet again!!!!!!!
  bevans Site Admin

Location: Melbourne, Australia
Chrome across multiple devices, dramas all round


And when i hit send on the above, you guessed it, the site crashed on me yet again!!!!!!!
BrentonGolding

PHP5 restarting on the hour at 17 mins past the hour.  Meeting with the dev company today.  Stay tuned.
  Graham4405 Minister for Railways

Location: Dalby Qld
BG which browser are you using?

I am on chrome and do not see any issues.
bevans
Using Chrome and had to clear my cache etc a couple of times the other day, but not since.

Sponsored advertisement

Display from: