Might I suggest that everyone read Flickr's latest Blog post, the link is below;I can't see any reference their which answers the question: what will happen to my free account with Flickr ?
From what I can gather, from reading Flickr Forums, as well as the Blog on the merger, free accounts will remain free, as Flickr will remain Flickr, as SmugMug love what Flickr does.
There are Two things that are
changing, at this point;
1. Yahoo/Oath no longer own Flickr, SmugMug do. Therefore, Flickr users will be governed by the Term of Service and Privacy Policies of SmugMug and this will occur as of the 25th of May 2018. If you don't want to be governed by the above mentioned then you can delete your Flickr account.
2. The Flickr & SmugMug users will remain on separate platforms. That is if you have a Flickr account you are a Flickr user, and if you have a SmugMug account you are a SmugMug user. If you have an account from both platforms, you have an account from both platforms and they will not be merged into One.
I am a long-term Flickr, since around 2004, but when Yahoo took over at the end of 2009, all of my photos were deleted, as I had under Fifty photos on my page, mind you some of those were of RL301 still in bare metal being taken for a test run. Since being deleted and having my counter restarted to January 2010, I now have just under 50,000 on my free Flickr page, I don't believe that I need to move to Flickr Pro since really I am just a photo hack, who takes record shots.